Prison of Promises Book Excerpt

I just published a book about my experienced living with my family while I was trying to recover from a natural disaster. It was nothing but problems and not at all what I thought it would be.

Here is an excerpt from that book:

What my sister and brother-in-law were doing to my mother was unforgivable. I only knew part of the story. It was after I got to Phoenix that I found out the rest of it. They were having terrible fights that involved them trying to force my mother to put my sister’s name on her checking account.

It is one thing to do that when both parties agree to it and sometimes it is necessary. But there was nothing wrong with my mother at that point other than the fact that she was elderly. She was not will to allow it because she knew too well how my sister was. It would mean giving up total control of her finances to them. She also knew that my sister was a spendthrift and would not do the right thing with her money.

It reached a point where my mother couldn’t take it anymore. She started taking cabs to my apartment to plan a way to get out. It didn’t sit well with them because she wasn’t allowed to have a key to their house. I had never heard of anything like that before. It is a given that when you pay rent you automatically get a key. I was told by my sister that she didn’t need one because she never went anywhere until I showed up! From that statement, I could see right away how it was going to play out. I was going to be label the villain in the whole mess when it was their fault in the first place for being horrible to her.

I just thought, so be it. If they wanted to blame me then let them. What mattered was that she was going to get away from that terrible treatment. I helped her get an apartment on the first floor of my building which was the ideal situation. I found temporary work in a factory so my mother and I went in on a car together. That way we would both have transportation. While we were finalizing everything she became ill and had to be hospitalized. It was then that all hell broke loose.

Available Exclusively at Amazon

$1.99 Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0722VP1DY

$8.99 Paperback: https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521278652

3 thoughts on “Prison of Promises Book Excerpt

  1. Hey!

    Nice blog (: I just started mine up and was looking for a few relative friends in the book world! I have a Booktube channel too. Also, There is a giveaway currently going on and I will be posting more as soon as I finish editing a few videos.

    Thanks and I hop you like my blog! :*

    Like

Leave a Reply

