Feeling Stuck in One Place

I have had periods in my life, especially recently, where I have asked myself, “How did I get here?” I am sure that I am not the only one to have felt this way at one point or another in their life. But what do you when this happens? The best answer that I can come up with is that you have to keep moving forward.

When this happened to me I didn’t have much else to work with at the time. I lived through a terrible natural disaster, the EF5 tornado that struck Joplin, Missouri on May 22, 2011, that left me with nothing. Unfortunately, my house was in its path. Through a series of my own choices, I wound up moving to Phoenix and living with my sister and brother-in-law who promised to help me get back on my feet.

Once I was in there, they reneged on that promise and I became trapped there.  I was allowed to live there so I could at least stay off of the street, but that was all. I had lost everything in the tornado, including my vehicle. They didn’t live on a bus route so I had no way to get a job. Every time I brought it up I was told that it wasn’t their problem.

It was very self-serving on their part to keep me trapped like that. My sister wanted me there because she had someone to take care of their house, their dogs, and my brother-in-law’s elderly sister. They are into photography so if I was there they could come and go as they pleased without having to worry about anything. My brother-in-law wanted me there to use me for doing dishes and household chores. They basically got to have fun and have a life while I had none.

This subject is the topic of my upcoming book, Prison of Promises which goes into the details of how all of it transpired. I lost years of my life living that way. I didn’t leave their house for months on end because they wouldn’t take me anywhere. I had no job and no money so I couldn’t just leave. I had my computer and access to the internet and that was all. So I had to use those two things and every skill set I have to figure out a way to make enough money to get myself out of there.

When you think about it, I guess I wasn’t just emotionally stuck I was literally stuck. That is the reason why I didn’t have much to work with. But I saw no point in looking back; I had to keep going forward. I couldn’t let that horrible situation get me down. I kept telling myself I would get out of there. It was the only way that I could keep my sanity.

So take it from me, when you feel stuck and your back is to the wall the only thing that you can do is move forward. Sometimes it is the only way to get through a difficult time in your life.

Leave a Reply

