The Benefits of Writing Regularly

Do you journal or blog on a regular basis? If you don’t you could be missing out on some very good benefits. There has been significant research done that proves it is good for you. The University of Austin Texas psychologist and researcher James Pennebaker says that regular journaling strengthens immune cells, called T-lymphocytes.

But health benefits aside, those people who write on a regular basis, know how good it feels to release all of the thoughts and emotions that they have pent up inside. It can relieve any kind of stress that you are feeling or just calm your busy mind. I don’t journal but I do have several blogs that I write for regularly and I am also self-publishing author. Writing about difficult periods in my life has been an excellent form of therapy for me. It can be for you also.

If you have trouble getting started you can try what is called free writing. It is an exercise where you write out all of your thoughts and ideas without worrying about grammar or punctuation. You just write. Then when you read back through what you have written you can form it into something. I don’t always write this way. I usually have a good idea of what I want to say.  But if I get stuck, then I will use this method. It is a good way to just get everything out of you.

My blog posts and books don’t always go in the direction that I plan. Sometimes I will start writing and it just goes down a different path. If I like what I read when I go back through it, then I just change the name to match the content. So I guess that is a form free writing too. It is just a little more structured.

If you are still skeptical, I never thought that I would like it either. Writing was the last thing that I ever thought I would be doing. But here I am a self-publishing author. My whole income doesn’t come from writing but part of it does. I do a variety of other things to earn money as well.

So not only is writing healthy for you, but you can also make money doing it. If you have never considered writing for its benefits, or to earn money, you really should give it a try.

2 thoughts on “The Benefits of Writing Regularly

  1. RedheadedBooklover

    This is so random of me to comment but I have to tell you that I just came across your blog and that I love it! Honestly, you have a lovely website here and I am so happy I have discovered it! I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

